Category Archives: Uncategorized

Requirements to Purchase a Handgun in the State of Florida


  • Persons must be 21 years of age to purchase.
    You must be a resident of the State of Florida or have 90 days proof of ownership of property in the State of Florida.
  • Fingerprints are not required; the check is conducted utilizing demographic data.
  • Florida does not require a specialized permit to purchase a firearm.
  • Without a valid Concealed Weapon Permit from the State of Florida, there is a mandatory three day waiting period for all handgun purchases.
    Individual counties, cities and municipalities have the ability to pass laws that add or lengthen the waiting period for any type of firearm. Please consult your local County Commission for more detailed information.
  • Concealed Weapon Permit holders are subject to the same background check as persons who do not possess a Concealed Weapon Permit.

There is no limit to the number of firearms you may purchase per background check. However, once the sale is completed, each additional firearm purchase in the future requires a new BATF form 4473 to be completed and the background check process repeated.